Installing Minecraft on my Pi!

11 Mar

Wow, nothing is easy in Linux, is it???  Today, I tried to install Minecraft on my Pi and the directions sounded easy enough.  But, it took me way over an hour to complete.  First, my wifi wouldn’t connect.  I tried 50 times, rebooted 10 times, typed the password in 100 times and it wouldn’t work, just kept saying something about a four-way handshake and a supplicant* (whatever that is) and then started over again in an endless loop.  Finally, just as I was typing in a request for help on the raspberrypi.org forum, it just started working!

So, then, I followed the directions exactly to install Minecraft and guess what . . . it didn’t work!  I kept getting EOF errors that were “unrecoverable.”  I tried again and again and again and it just wouldn’t work.  So, I read online about a guy who had to download and delete the file four or five times before it finally worked.  It took me seven times, but finally when I typed “tar -zxvf minecraft-pi-0.1.1.tar.gz” the screen lit up with text and I squeaked a little bit with excitement.  I typed “cd mcpi” and then “./minecraft-pi” and it worked!!!  My dad was sitting with me and heard me get excited about everything that it said on the screen.  I yelled out “It’s building terrain!” and “It’s saving chunks” as the words popped up.

Here’s a picture of my screen:

Image

I got really excited when I realized that it’s the full version of Minecraft, not the lite version that I have on my iPod.  I quickly realized how the controls work: “w” to walk forward, “a” to walk to the left, “s” to walk backwards, “d” to walk to the right, and spacebar to jump.  Pressing “e” takes you to the inventory of all of your supplies.  Also, the left click on the mouse breaks blocks, the right click places things, and the scroll wheel moves through your on-screen inventory.  It scared my parents to see how excited I was about having dynamite in my inventory!  This is sooooooooo much fun!

Here is where I got the instructions for installing minecraft on my Pi: http://pi.minecraft.net/

* “Failed to enable network in wpa_supplicant configuration”

Here are instructions how to install Minecraft for Pi even if your Pi is not connected to the internet:

 

Update______________________

Since this post, I’ve had trouble with Minecraft on my Pi.  I plugged in my Pi to play one day and the whole program was gone.  So, I reinstalled it and played for 5 seconds before the Pi crashed.  When I restarted, the program was gone again.  There was no mcpi folder.  The tar.gz was not in the tmp folder.  It was gone.  So, I went through this same process about 8 more times with the same result.  I tried it on another memory card and it didn’t work there either.  It seems that version 0.1.1 isn’t working for me anymore :-(  I’m sad and don’t know how to fix this.  Any ideas?  Please post in the comments.

8 Responses to “Installing Minecraft on my Pi!”

  1. Tariq Kamal March 11, 2013 at 10:06 am #

    I totally feel for you with your troubles with wpa_supplicant.

    Was trying to learn how to install Linux the Hard Way (because I’m a glutton for punishment lol), and I spent a good hour just grovelling in front of wpa_supplicant.conf, repeatedly searching for documentation, putting in my wifi key, waiting, and then inexplicably not getting connected. Repeatedly. It was maddening, because I couldn’t figure out what was wrong. Was it my network connection? Was it my wifi key? Was it my kernel drivers? No idea.

    Gave up, went off to get a cup of tea, tried again, and… then it worked, for a reason I couldn’t figure out.

    I suppose “supplicant” is an apt name for it, since the blasted thing works in mysterious ways… >_<;;

  2. Evi Vanoost March 19, 2013 at 6:39 am #

    Hey there,

    Always cool to see a fellow hacker growing up, you remind me of when you were young.

    Either way, to get WPA_Supplicant to work (A supplicant is an entity in a 802.1X network that seeks to be authenticated – someone named it that in an important document somewhere called an “RFC” which has since become the industry’s “standard”).

    You need to edit /etc/network/interfaces and it needs to read:
    allow-hotplug wlan0
    auto wlan0
    wpa-roam /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf
    iface default inet dhcp

    Then you need to edit /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf

    Where wlan0 is your wireless lan adapter and your wpa_supplicant needs to read:
    network={
    ssid=””
    proto=RSN
    key_mgmt=WPA-PSK
    pairwise=CCMP TKIP
    group=CCMP TKIP
    psk=””
    }

    My Pi is down right now (it’s unplugged and I’m too lazy to plug it in) but I am making Pi’s work for an advertising billboard company (you know the TV’s that show ad’s in public places) so it needs to connect easily and a technician should be able to easily modify the settings.

    So what I have done is copy /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf to /boot/wpa.config and /etc/network/interfaces to /boot/network_config and made a big explanation within the files on how to construct (correctly) these files for different configuration (fixed IP addresses etc). Then I linked those files to their original locations (after making a backup). I’ll show you 1 and you do the rest:

    # Make a backup using the copy (cp) command
    cp /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf.orig
    # Move the file to /boot using the mv command
    mv /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf /boot/wpa.config
    # Link the file in boot to it’s original location
    ln -s /boot/wpa.config /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf

    Now everytime the operating system goes look for the file /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf it will be automatically redirected to /boot/wpa.config and read it from there as if the file is located at /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf

    The reason you put it in /boot is because /boot is a FAT32 partition which is readable and writeable by Windows (and Mac etc). So if you plug in the SD card into a computer, it will show up as a ~100MB flash drive and have a couple of files in it which usually you shouldn’t touch but in my documentation I tell them to edit wpa.config and network_config in Notepad or TextEdit so they can do it on their laptops, plug the card back into the Pi and they don’t need to know anything about how the Pi works.

    If you have any further questions, feel free to post here, I am a very busy person but there are many of us around to help you. There are also bigger forums where you can find more information, with guidance of your parent(s) or guardian(s), you can navigate around the Internet to find answers.

    • Evi Vanoost March 19, 2013 at 6:43 am #

      Forgot to tell you, it’s normal for the Pi to take a couple of seconds to negotiate with the router. It takes mine about a minute after boot before it is authenticated and gets it’s IP address.

      This is because first it needs to power up the network while all the other stuff is booting as well. Then it needs to do a difficult calculation (using very large prime numbers and stuff) in order to encrypt the keys and negotiate on how to do all that and the Pi is not a very powerful machine. Once there is a virtual, encrypted tunnel between the Pi and the router to send data back and forth, then it needs to wait for the router to respond with an IP address which also takes a couple of seconds.

      On desktop computers this takes seconds but on the Pi I have noticed it can take up to 1-2 minutes before it gets an IP address.

  3. free minecraft March 21, 2013 at 5:54 pm #

    I like the valuable info you provide in your articles. I will bookmark your weblog and check again here frequently.
    I am quite sure I’ll learn many new stuff right here! Best of luck for the next!

  4. Bukkit 1.5.1 May 2, 2013 at 7:40 am #

    Way cool! Some very valid points! I appreciate you penning this article and also the
    rest of the site is extremely good.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Installing Minecraft on my Pi! | Raspberry World - March 11, 2013

    [...] By krystal92586 [...]

  2. Minecraft Adventure Part 2- The Reinstallation | Raspberry Pi Kid - November 22, 2013

    […] on the pi, because I know I can, I know that it’s possible, I’ve done it before (see my blog here).  But then, it fell apart.  It stopped working.  I downloaded it again, installed it, played it […]

  3. Minecraft Adventure Part 2- The Reinstallation | Raspberry World - November 22, 2013

    […] on the pi, because I know I can, I know that it’s possible, I’ve done it before (see my blog here).  But then, it fell apart.  It stopped working.  I downloaded it again, installed it, played it […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 72 other followers

