Adventure with Canakit and NOOBS: Update

20 Apr

I am writing this blog on the new Raspberry Pi.  It was an adventure to get here, but I’m here now.  Here’s a link to the first part of the story: http://raspberrypikid.wordpress.com/2014/04/20/adventure-with-canakit-and-noobs/

[OK, I found one weakness with Chromium.  There's supposed to be a photo here and Chromium won't let me do it.]

I downloaded the new version of NOOBS.  There’s no need for extra software, you just unzip it onto the memory card.  I did.  And it failed.  The memory card didn’t seem to be working.  The activity light never even blinked when I put it in and plugged in the RPi.  I decided to use the one that came with it.  It has a really cool raspberry image on it.  But, the 8 GB memory card was only reading 1.17 GB.  I formatted it 3 or 4 times and it remained the same.  The NOOBS image is bigger than that, so I couldn’t put it on the card.  I know that this is because the operating system sets a partition on the card to give itself space, but I didn’t know how to fix it.

Instead, I deleted a few of the operating systems that I won’t be using and got it down to 980 MB.  It fit.  It booted.  YES!  It worked!  I’m using Raspbian right now and it set up perfectly, the wifi was easy to set up, and it seems to be working.  Only challenge has been that none of the 3 browsers that came with it would allow me to start a new post on wordpress.  I am typing this in Chromium and it is doing an excellent job.

Although it has been a long road, I’m finally connected.  Message to Canakit, you really, really, really should make sure that the operating system that you put on your memory cards works with the Raspberry Pi that you ship it with.

Here’s how to install the Chromium browser.  Just open a terminal window and type this:

sudo apt-get install chromium-browser
To add some more fonts to make it look better, type this:
sudo apt-get install ttf-mscorefonts-installer 
One Response to “Adventure with Canakit and NOOBS: Update”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Adventure with Canakit and NOOBS: Update | Raspberry World - April 20, 2014

    […] By krystal92586 […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 84 other followers

