Took a break from Pi to build a Segway

19 Jan

Follow my 11-year old adventures with my Raspberry Pi

Today, I took a break from programming my raspbi to work on a Lego Robot.  I have the Lego Mindstorms NXT 2.0 set and I’ve programmed it before in NXT-G (drag and drop) and robotC (similar to C++).  I’ve also been to a high school robot camp to learn more about them.

A few weeks ago, I decided to stop building robots with it and build other things controlled by the NXT brick, so I built a guitar that used the sonar to figure how far my hand was down the neck and play different notes.  I downloaded the program and then modified it for a different neck length and to use the touch sensor instead of the button on the brick.  Here’s a video of me playing a song on my guitar:

But I saw online the instructions for building a Segway, self-balancing, 2-wheeled vehicle online and I had to try it!  I had to purchase a gyroscope from HiTechnic and wait for it to arrive.  It arrived yesterday, so I started building today.  I also downloaded the program and modified it slightly.  It works pretty well, but crashed at the end when it tries to go up carpet.  Check out the video below.  Next would be to figure out how to control it with a remote.  Here’s the video:

That was fun!  Python, I’m coming back from vacation now!

4 Responses to “Took a break from Pi to build a Segway”

  1. Gaston January 22, 2013 at 10:22 pm #

    Well done. Keep up with the interesting posts!

  2. عزه الدالي May 23, 2013 at 12:26 pm #

    Hello I wish help in my graduation project, a Segway balance light sensor and control PID , no balanced now , help me

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Took a break from Pi to build a Segway | Raspberry World - March 11, 2013

    […] By krystal92586 […]

Leave a Reply

