Day 4 (Part 2): Fun Team Activities

1 Oct

Wow, what a day!  I met the President of the United States!  But I’m getting ahead of myself.  Let me tell you about the rest of my day first.

First thing this morning, we got into teams and had to build a building that could withstand a hurricane and flooding . . . out of popsicle sticks!  Ours didn’t do so well, but it was incredibly fun!  Second, we had to create a propeller/fan blade that when connected to a motor (generator) and put in front of a fan would generate the most electricity.  Mine generated 1.13 volts!  See the picture of my fan below.  Then, we used film cannisters and alka seltzer tablets to make miniature rockets.  The goal was to get the “rocket” to go a specific height.  The, we built marble roller coasters out of foam pipe insulation.  My group’s had two loops, a corkscrew, and a jump in it!

Then, we went to the White House and I already blogged about that here.  To make a long story short, I met the president and shook his hand!

Then, we went to dinner and a “ghost tour.”  I was a little worried that the ghost tour was going to be lame, but it was more about the history of the area than about ghosts.  We came back to the hotel and played board games.

Tomorrow, I get to meet an astronaut!  And I get to meet Eben Upton, the inventor of the Raspberry Pi!  I cannot wait!!!

 

Fan

2 Responses to “Day 4 (Part 2): Fun Team Activities”

  1. reccles October 1, 2013 at 5:01 pm #

    Love your Blog postings. Boy are they keeping you busy. Miss you guys

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Day 4 (Part 2): Fun Team Activities | Raspberry World - October 1, 2013

    […] By krystal92586 […]

Leave a Reply

