Day 4 Part 2: The big awards ceremony

2 Oct

So, tonight was the big awards ceremony.  There were about 17 awards given out all the way up to the grand prize of $25,000.  But first, let me tell you about the rest of my day.

I had dinner with Eben Upton and Liz Upton.  Eben is the inventor of the Raspberry Pi computer and Liz is his wife who runs the Raspberry Pi website, blog, and Twitter feed.  Check out this article that they put on the website talking about Broadcom MASTERS.  Mrs. Upton also gave me some limited edition Raspberry Pi stickers!  They also gave each of the finalists their own Raspberry Pi.  I’m hoping to have each of the finalists guest post on my blog after they’ve had a chance to try out the RPi.

Our dinner was amazing.  Broadcom and SSP really did an absolutely incredible job making us feel special this week.  I also met an astronaut, got my picture taken with her, and got her autograph!  Now that’s the sixth astronaut autograph in my collection!  Her name is Jeanette Epps.  I’ll post that picture later, it’s in the digital camera, not the phone.

So, the big news is . . . . I now have an asteroid named after me!!!!!!  The MIT Lincoln Laboratory named an asteroid (or minor planet) after each one of us.  The asteroid’s name is “28720 Krystalrose.”  See below for a picture of the official certificate.

At the awards ceremony, I won one of two “Rising Star Awards.”  This means that I’ll go to the International Science and Engineering Fair in Los Angeles in May and participate in the International Broadcom MASTERS event with kids from all over the world.  This experience in DC has been absolutely WONDERFUL!  I bet that Los Angeles will be just as good or better!

Well, it’s late, it’s been a long wonderful day, and I have a flight tomorrow.  So, I’m signing off for now.

Here’s the letter announcing the asteroid!

ImageHere’s Jeanette Epps’ autograph!ImageHere is my certificate for my Rising Stars award.

ImageAnd here is the official asteroid naming certificate.

Planet

 

4 Responses to “Day 4 Part 2: The big awards ceremony”

  1. Pam Dennison October 2, 2013 at 12:58 pm #

    I don’t even know what to say to that…. I guess the sky’s the limit for you!,,

  2. reccles October 2, 2013 at 4:23 pm #

    I am so very proud of you.

  3. Not Telling October 25, 2013 at 1:48 am #

    Wow!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Day 4 Part 2: The big awards ceremony | Raspberry World - October 2, 2013

    […] By krystal92586 […]

Leave a Reply

